Google+ Followers

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

The Wilderness Society's PHOTO OF THE MONTH

IMAGE: Whale watching off Moreton Island, Queensland | Angela Schweikert
For a chance to see your own wilderness photo in the next issue of Wild News, email it to by Friday, 15 December with your name and short description. Good luck! Read the terms and conditions.

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

'MIST' by Henry Thoreau


Low-anchored cloud,
Newfoundland air,
Fountain-head and source of rivers,
Dew-cloth, dream-drapery,
And napkin spread by fays;
Drifting meadow of the air,
Where bloom the daisied banks and violets,
And in whose fenny labyrinth
The bittern booms and heron wades;
Spirit of lakes and seas and rivers,—
Bear only perfumes and the scent
Of healing herbs to just men’s fields.
Henry David Thoreau

Saturday, November 21, 2015

Tegan Bennett Daylight on Joan London

When I remember being a child and reading, I think first of sunlight, which I was always manoeuvring to be partly, though not wholly, in. This sunlight is always linked to quiet, to stillness. The sense of movement around me, but happening at a distance – my mother talking on the telephone (her voice louder as she strayed to the very end of the cord), or my sister using her sewing machine – the sort of movement that envelops you but allows you to be alone. The psychotherapist and writer Adam Phillips, referring to D. W. Winnicott’s essay ‘The Capacity to be Alone’ (1958), says that ‘the goal for the child is to be alone in the presence of the mother. For a long time this has seemed to me to be the single best definition of reading’.

Perhaps the best definition of good writing is the kind that recreates this safe aloneness, this suspended awareness of the self, this being lost but at the same time attached. We adult readers can go a long time between books that have this effect, and still be entertained and even inspired by what we read. But if we are lucky, every few years a book or a writer will appear that brings this sense back – a book that makes us feel as though that stillness in the centre of movement has been both captured and, in the act of reading, reproduced.

SNO120 - Exhibition of Non Objective Writing to 13th December

Thursday, November 19, 2015

from Southerly's desk

The most excellent Toby Fitch has been Southerly’s Poetry Reviews Editor for the past five years. He’s commissioned, edited, and organised all the poetry reviews you read in the journal and online. But now, Toby is off on new adventures. He will begin as Poetry Editor at Overland Journal, taking over from Peter Minter, in 2016. He will also help judge Overland’s Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets. We’ve loved him, we’ll miss him, and we wish him all the best.
Thank you, Toby!

Commonwealth Bank Test squad named for Adelaide

Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel has named a 13-man squad for the history-making Third Commonwealth Bank Test against New Zealand, to be played under day-night conditions at the Adelaide Oval.

The squad is:
Steve Smith (c)             NSW
David Warner (vc)            NSW
Joe Burns               QLD
Josh Hazlewood            NSW
Nathan Lyon              NSW
Mitchell Marsh            WA
Shaun Marsh               WA
Peter Nevill                ;NSW
Steve O’Keefe              NSW
James Pattinson              VIC
Mitchell Starc                NSW
Peter Siddle                 VIC
Adam Voges                 WA
The squad includes West Australian batsman Shaun Marsh. He replaces the injured Usman Khawaja who injured his left hamstring in the second Test match in Perth and is likely to be unavailable for Australia’s next two matches.
National Selector Rod Marsh said: “Shaun was unlucky to miss out on the squad for the first two Tests and since then has scored consistently in Sheffield Shield, so we believe he deserves this opportunity.”
New South Welshman Stephen O’Keefe has also been included in the side as an extra spin-bowling option.
“We have opted to include an extra spinner in the squad for Adelaide as we are unsure what conditions we will see there. Stephen was included in our squad that was to go to Bangladesh and if he should get an opportunity we think he will make the most of it.
Victorian paceman James Pattinson joins the squad following the retirement of Mitchell Johnson.
“James has made a good return to Shield cricket following his injury and has earned this re-call.
“He has worked incredibly hard and we are confident that he is ready to perform at Test level if selected.”
The squad will assemble in Adelaide on Sunday afternoon.

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Fresh off the Press! THE OPPENS REMEMBERED

Thank you University of New Mexico Press for The Oppens Remembered: Poetry, Politics, Friendship.

Neil J (BRiLO) Pattinson Book Launch on Friday 27th November 2015.

 Indifferent Publications and the Viable Human Mob present
celebrating the launch of Cartoon & Conspiracy Theory
by Neil J Pattinson on Friday 27th November 2015
from 6pm (formalities at 7pm). 
The venue is 55 Broadway, Bassendean –
if you disembark train at Bassendean, take the street
that leads off the side of the BWS liquor store. 
That street is called Broadway, walk no more than 10minutes
and you should be there.
Join in celebrating Neil J (BRiLO) Pattinson’s first poetry book. 

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Decomposition as a Spiritual Value in Poetry by Dobby Gibson

from American Poetry Review, November / December 2015

APRLanguage is inherently under pressure, even this sentence. There’s the restriction of time, the constrictions of page space. There are the limits of understanding. “The thing itself always escapes,” Derrida wrote. And yet, an utterance’s ultimate inability to fully represent the mysterious source material of its existence can reveal other layers of meanings, which ripple outward from a speech act in ways the speaker doesn’t always control.

I’m just beginning to describe a quality within poetry I’m going to call decomposition, something we as poets can not only identify, but cultivate. For what is a poem other than a tantalizing glimpse at meaning dissolving, a ceremonialized “experience of almost” slipping through our hands? “A word is elegy to what it signifies,” wrote Robert Hass in his most famous poem, “Meditation at Lagunitas.” The very material of our art—words—are mortal. Linguists predict that at least half of the world’s 6,000 or so languages will be dead and forgotten by the year 2050.